Introducing…

大家好! (That means “hi everybody” in Chinese). My name is Emrie Tomaiko. I just turned twenty two this past August. I’m a fifth year senior at ASU studying Cultural Anthropology and Mandarin Chinese. I enjoy reading both books and comics, writing, dancing Argentine tango, playing trombone, doing yoga, and singing. I am a member (and last year’s acting Student Association President) of the Chinese Flagship Program, a government sponsored program for critical languages. That is why I’m in China writing for ASU’s Study Abroad Blog.

Image result for nanjing
Nanjing, China

 

I was born in Mesa, Arizona, but grew up predominately in Buckeye. I attended Xavier College Preparatory in downtown Phoenix before attending the University of Evansville in Indiana. There I studied music therapy and psychology before discovering a passion for world cultures. Due to the fact that the anthropology program was practically nonexistent, I returned home to attend ASU, home of the Institute of Human Origins. As a prerequisite, I needed to take two years of a foreign language. I decided to join a friend in studying Chinese. I fell in love with Chinese culture. I have continued on with my studies in the hopes of becoming a literary translator and editor/writer.

As a part of the Flagship Program

Image result for nanjing university
Nanjing University

I am currently in Nanjing, China for my capstone year. I’ll be in Nanjing attending Nanjing University classes. Next semester I will be in a different place for an internship in the publishing field.

My journey to find my passion was long and arduous, but I believe I’m on the right path. I can only continue to grow as I explore China further. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to write suggestions for adventures or article ideas.

